Salta al contenuto principale
Passa alla visualizzazione normale.

ESQC-2015 - XV ed.


Fifteen edition of the European Summerschool in Quantum Chemistry 2015

The European Summerschool in Quantum Chemistry will take place for the 15th time from September 6 to September 19 2015, at the Hotel Torre Normanna, Altavilla Milicia. The goal of the school is to introduce the participants to modern methods and computational techniques in quantum chemistry. More and more scientists in different fields of chemistry are using theoretical methods in their research, either as a technique per se, or as a complement to experimental work. As a result there is a growing need to acquire the background knowledge necessary for skillful use of these methods. The European Summer School in Quantum Chemistry (ESQC) was started with the aim of disseminating such knowledge. The first school was held in August 1989 under the direction of the late Björn Roos. The school aims at developing critical thinking of the participants, and much time will therefore be devoted to the discussion of different electronic structure problems and the choice of appropriate methods for their solution. The course will consist of both lectures and tutorials. This year the ESQC will support a PhD student from University of Palermo.

Registration will start March 17 2015. All complete registrations received before March 31 will be treated on an equal footing. The number of students is limited to 80.


General aspects of computational chemistry
Mathematical Tools in Quantum Chemistry
Second Quantization
Basis Sets, Integrals and SCF Methods
Density Functional Theory
Coupled Cluster Theory
Molecular properties
Introduction to Response Theory
Relativistic Quantum Chemistry
Solvent Effects in Chemistry
Open shell systems
The Multiconfigurational Approach
Algorithm design
Local correlation

Director: Trond Saue
Laboratoire de Chimie et Physique Quantiques
Université Toulouse III (Paul Sabatier), FRANCE

Local organizing committee:
Giampaolo Barone (STEBICEF),
Fabrizio Lo Celso (Dipartimento di Fisica e Chimica),